Utter Wins KMJ Performance Miller Lite 50 at the Marshalltown Speedway

Aug 14, 2013

Marshalltown, Iowa (August 13th,  2013) – Speedway return back to action on Tuesday Night with the inaugural visit for the Corn Belt Clash Late Models at the high banked quarter mile. Also on the card was the ever so popular Mod Lites and IMCA Sport Mods.

The Corn Belt Clash Late Models saw Chad Simpson earn the pole for the feature by winning the  QuickCar Racing Products Quick Six presented by Pro Power Racing Engines and Grove Automotive Dash. Before a lap could be completed though in the 50 lapper the caution waved when Charlie McKenna spun in turn two. When the race got started it was Chad Simpson out jumping Jason Jaggers, Jason Utter and Chris Simpson.

Chad Simpson continued to lead but lap traffic started to become a problem on lap eleven and allowed Utter to chase down Chad Simpson. Utter was able to sneak by as lap traffic was slowing down Simpson on lap thirty-eight. Just after Utter took the lead the caution waved for Rick Wendling losing the handle in turn one and then again on the restart when Mike Fryer spun in turn one and for a piece of debris in turn two.  Utter lead the remaining twelve laps to take the win and the $3,000 pay check that went along with it. Chad Simpson was second, Dave Eckrich was third, Chris Simpson was fourth and Justin Mitchell beat Jaggers to the line for the fifth spot.

Jeff Stensland driving a car normally driven by DJ Schmalzried, grabbed the lead in the Toby K’s Hideaway Mod Lites feature on lap one but it was Jimmy May taking the lead away on lap two. May lead through a caution on lap six when Charlie Brown lost the handle in turn two. May knew Andy Hennigar and Mike Morrill was coming but it was Hennigar that grabbed the lead away on lap eleven meanwhile Morrill shuffled back. Hennigar went on to take the victory with Jimmy May in second, Dusty Masolini in third, Jeff Stensland came home in fourth and Mike Morrill was fifth.

In the Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA Sport Mods feature it was Jenae Gustin grabbing the early lead but caution waved on lap six for debris in turn three. On the restart, Gustin had her hands full and lost the lead on lap eight to Doug Smith from Lake City. Smith held the lead through a pair of cautions on lap eleven and thirteen. Smith took the win over Joel Rust, Curtis VanDerWal, Jenae Gustin and Carter VanDenBerg.

Its back to racing on Friday Night as it will be Marshalltown Snowmobile Club Night at the Races. Grandstands are $9 for Adults, Children 11 and under is $2. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing at 7:30 pm.

For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at: http://www.marshalltownspeedway.com/, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.