Mother Nature Intervenes at Marshalltown Speedway

May 8, 2010

Marshalltown, Iowa (April, 30, 2010) -- Once again Mother Nature decided to have her way with the Marshalltown Speedway, but this week she waited for a bit before deciding to cut loose during the early stages of the modified A-Main.  As always the races kept the fans entertained for the whole night with multiple racing lines and nail biting side by side racing action.


The Modlite Dwarf Cars were the first feature on the track and put on a good show as the track started to show a couple quick lines around the bottom and middle.  Joel Huggins started 3rd and took the early lead coming off of turn 2 on the first lap.  Huggins led the next 11 laps of the 12 lap main event with cautions coming out on lap 2 for Cory Sonner and lap 5 for Colby Obermebt.  Tim Hennigar moved up to the middle of the track after a couple laps of running the bottom and slowly started moving forward from his inside 3rd row starting spot.  He battled with Mike Morrill for 2nd for a few laps and reeled in Huggins with a few laps to go.  On the white flag Hennigar made his move coming to the stand and slipped under Huggins going into turn 1.  Hennigar would pull away down the backstretch and be the first to Jerry Vansickel’s checkered flag.  Morrill finished 2nd, Huggins 3rd and Josh May got his car fixed from a rollover in his heat to finish 4th.  Heat race winners were Joel Huggins and Tim Hennigar.


The Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods had a few lead changes and a big 6 car wreck in turn 4 while the yellow flag was out that caused a 15 minute break while work crews tended the some injured cars.  Stacy Clark would lead the first lap and then Shawn Hunter stole the lead for a few laps and lead until lap 3.  On the 4th lap of the 15 lap event 14 year old Cayden Carter took the lead and never looked back.  Just two weeks ago Carter led 14.5 laps and got passed while leading but this week Carter would take it the distance and win in commanding fashion.  Eric Elliott finished 2nd, Jake Strayer 3rd and Scott Davis crossed the line in 4th.  Heat race winners were Jake Strayer, Cayden Carter, Shawn Simatovich and Gatlin Leytham.


Clay Deppe stormed out to the early lead in the Aarons IMCA Stock Cars and led the first 3 laps.  Michael Jeanette would catch up and make his move on lap 4 and he would lead until lap 10 when Trent Murphy made his presence felt up front and stole the show once again.  Murphy would end up winning the race but Jeanette, Murphy and Dustin Smith kept the crowd in the race as they were 2 and 3 wide the last 8 laps of the race.  Smith ended up 2nd and Jeanette 3rd.


Mother Nature decided to bring a little moisture during the Modified A-Main so next week we will run therest of the Mod feature and the Hobby Stock feature.  Hot laps at 6:45 and we will start racing at 7:15.

# # #