Fans and Drivers Endure Battle with Mother Nature

May 9, 2010

Marshalltown, Iowa (May 7, 2010) -- Fans still came out to watch the races on Friday night with unusually cool weather and lots of wind.  For the fans that did tough out the weather, they got entertained with awesome racing and double features in the Modifieds and Hobby Stocks.

In the first make up feature for the Modifeds we already had 3 laps completed and Joel Bushore continued to lead to start the evening off.  Bushore would lead through lap 7 when Luke Wanninger would take the lead and take it the distance to pick up his first win in a modified at Marshalltown.  Bushore finished 2nd, Richie Gustin 3rd and Jimmy Gustin rounded off the top 4.

The Hobby Stock feature was a wild one as Clint Nelson lead the first 3 laps and then things turned south for Nelson and he pulled in while leading.  Matt Hudspeth then inherited the lead and paced the field until lap 10 when Devin Smith made his move on the inside of turn 2 and lead the rest of the way.  Michael Murphy got 2nd, Hudspeth in 3rd and Josh Saunders finished 4th.

The Modlite Dwarf Cars started things off with an 8 car pileup in turn 1 after taking the green, most of the cars drove away.  After taking the next green Randy Bryan would race out to the early lead and lead the first half of the race and then Mike Morrill pulled a slide job on Bryan off of turn 4 on lap 7 and would lead the rest of the way.  Josh May took 2nd, Eric Hendrickson 3rd and Randy Bryan 4th.  Heat race winners were Joel Huggins and Mike Kennedy.

Gatlin Leytham led the first 6 laps in the SportMod feature. Leytham had lots of competition as the race had 5 yellow flags.  On lap 7 Brett Moffitt worked around the high side of Leytham and would lead the rest of the way.  The 13 would be disqualified in post race tech for an illegal carburetor spacer.  Cayden Carter would get his second straight win, Jake Strayer 2nd, Geoff Olson 3rd and Scott Davis stormed back to the front after being involved in an early caution to take 4th.  Brad Iverson, Scott Davis, Cayden Carter and Brett Moffitt each won their heat race.

The Stock Cars saw Tommy Thompson celebrate his birthday by leading for the first 3 laps and then Travis Shipman would make the pass and lead the last 15 laps of the event to pick up his first career win at the Marshalltown Speedway.  Trent Murphy continued to run upfront and finished 2nd, Michael Jeannette got 3rd and Tommy Thompson finished 4th.  Heat race winners were Clay Deppe, Tracy Gienger and Rick Brown.

The Modifieds saw Jimmy Gustin lead the feature from flag to flag while running the top side.  Canada native Joey Galloway went for a wild ride on the front stretch and walked away.  Luke Wanninger capped off his night with a solid 2nd place finish, David Brown 3rd and Todd Conrad 4th.  Heat Race winners were Josh Gilman, Richie Gustin, Josh Truman and Luke Wanninger.

In the final event of the evening we saw another first time winner at the Marshalltown Speedway, this time in the Hobby Stocks.  Tyler Pickett would lead the whole entire way to pick up the win, Calvin Dhondt finished 2nd but challenged Pickett the entire way, as he was on the back bumped the entire distance.  Todd Reitzler got 3rd and Mike Vibbard 4th.  Heat race winners were Eric Stanton, Todd Reitzler, Tyler Pickett and Eric Larson.

Make sure to join us this Friday for the Cliff Chambers Memorial.  Hot laps begin at 6:45 pm and racing at 7:30 pm!  For addition information log on at: or call the track office at: 515- 432-4703.