Memorial Day Weekend Proves Prosperous for Dustin Smith

May 30, 2010

MARSHALLTOWN, IA (May 28, 2010) Promoter Toby Kruse opened up the night’s drivers meeting by telling the drivers that he would double their winnings if they could win the heat race and elect to go to the tail of the field in their respective class and win.  Lake City, Iowa native Dustin Smith decided to take Kruse up on the offer and went to tail of the Aarons Stock Car feature event and wasted no time by taking the lead on lap 8 from Tracy Gienger who led the first 7 laps.  The yellow flag came out on laps 3, 10 and 12. Michael Jeanette finished 2nd, Trent Murphy 3rd and Tracy Gienger 4th.  Heat race winners were Dustin Smith and Rick Brown.


In the Mod Lite Dwarf Cars feature Colby Oberembt led the first lap but then Mike Kennedy took the lead off of turn 4 on coming to lap 2 and led the rest of the way to make it two straight visits to Victory Lane at the Marshalltown Speedway.  The yellow flew on laps 2, 6, 8 and 10.  Points leader Mike Morrill finished 2nd, Tim Hennigar 3rd and Josh May 4th. Heat race winners were Mike Morrill, Dusty Masolini and Tim Hennigar.


Dylan Book led all 15 laps of the Big 8 Tyre Center SportMod feature to pick up his first career win at Marshalltown Speedway in an I.M.C.A. Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod.  Book was challenged by Zach Rawlins for the final 5 laps, as Rawlins would get a big run off of turn 4 and pull alongside Book down the front stretch.  Rawlins would end up 2nd; Scott Davis finished 3rd and Eric Flander 4th.  Heat race winners were Geoff Olson, Fred Leytham, Zach Rawlins and Jake Strayer.


Rookie Daniel Hilsabeck led the first two laps of the Meskwaki Casino Hotel Modified feature.  Richie Gustin took the lead on lap 3 and never looked back to pick up his second consecutive A-Main win.  The only yellow came out on lap 18.  Mike O’Lear finished 2nd, Scott Simatovich 3rd and Adam Larson 4th.  Heat race winners were Richie Gustin, Jon Snyder and Adam Larson.


The Junction Bar and Grill Hobby Stocks were the last to take the track.  Adam Rickett led the first lap and then Eric Knutsen led until lap 6.  Dustin Smith challenged Knutsen for a few laps and made his move on lap 7 for the lead and ended up in victory lane once again.  The only yellow flag came out on lap 4.  Eric Knutsen finished 2nd, Todd Reitzler 3rd and Michael Murphy 4th.  Heat race winners were Michael Murphy, Devin Smith and Eric Stanton.


Make sure to join us Friday June 4th for Minute Man Printing Night and Little League Night.  All Little Leaguers in uniform will be admitted free.  Hot laps start at 6:45 p.m. and heat races begin at 7:30 p.m. for more information call 515-432-4703 or log onto


# # #