Last Lap Passes the Key to Victory at Marshalltown

Jun 11, 2010

MARSHALLTOWN, IA (June 11, 2010) - Mother Nature decided to give us a little rain to start the night off at the Marshalltown Speedway.  The racetrack proved to be fast and drivers could run the high or low side of the racetrack as it worked in throughout the night, 112 cars rolled through the gates.  Three of the feature events were decided with last lap passes.


In the Modlite Dwarf Cars Colby Oberembt led the first 14 laps. On the last lap point’s leader, Mike Morrill made the move for the win on the inside of turn 2.  Morrill led the last half lap to pick up the win and extend his points lead.  Oberembt finished 2nd, Tim Hennigar 3rd and Eric Hendrickson 4th.  Heat race winners were Jeff Stensland and Mike Morrill.


Last week’s winner Gaitlin Leytham led the first 3 laps of the Big 8 Tyre Center SportMod feature event.  Zach Rawlins led to the last lap and was in the hunt for his first career win but Cayden Carter would steal the show and make the last lap pass to pick up his 3rd win of the year at the Marshalltown Speedway.  Rawlins finished 2nd, Leytham 3rd and Doug Smith 4th.  Neil Follett, Geoff Olson, Carter VanDenBerg and Gaitlin Leytham each won heats.


Former Track Champion Tracy Gienger led from flag to flag in the Aarons Stock Car feature.  Gienger protected a straight away lead for the majority of the race and never really received a challenge from anyone.  Dustin Smith got 2nd, Trent Murphy 3rd and Damon Murty 4th.  Heat race winners were Rick Brown, Tracy Gienger and Trent Murphy.


Todd Shute led the entire Meskwaki Casino Hotel Modified event.  While leading Shute was challenged by Richie Gustin with a few laps to go but, Shute kept his momentum going on the top side of the racetrack to pick up the win.  Gustin got 2nd, Randy Havlik 3rd and Mike O’Lear 4th.  Heat race winners were Denny Rosenberg, Adam Larson and Josh Gilman


The Junction Bar and Grill Hobby Stock feature put on a fantastic show as Gary Pfantz led the first 2 laps and then Eric Stanton led until the last lap and rookie Calvin Dhondt drove his car deep into turn 3 and took the lead in turn 4 to pick up his first career win. Stanton took 2nd, Michael Murphy 3rd and Eric Larson 4th.   Eric Knutson, Eric Stanton and Devin Smith each won heat races.


Make sure to join us next Friday June 18th for Arnold Motor Supply and O’Lear Racing Night.  Hot Laps start at 6:45 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m. for more information log onto or call 515-432-4703.


# # #