Spectator Eliminator Steals The Show

Jun 25, 2010

MARSHALLTOWN, IA (June 25, 2010) – The most entertaining part of the night was saved for last on Friday night at the Marshalltown Speedway.  Spectator Eliminator proved to be extremely popular with the fans, so popular that Promoter Toby Kruse is bringing it back on July 23rd!   23 cars entered and Ivan Guerra walked away with the title.


Joel Huggins led the first 12 laps of the Modlite Dwarf Car feature and Josh May used the highline of the racetrack to track down Huggins.  May made the winning pass off of turn 4 on lap 13 to add another win on the year.  Joel Huggins finished 2nd, Tim Hennigar 3rd and Mike Morrill 4th.  Heat race winners were Jeff Stensland and Josh May.


In the Big 8 Tyre Center SportMods Tom Rawlins paced the field for the first 5 laps and then a flat tire sidelined him.  Fred Leytham inherited the lead and never looked back to pick up the win.  His son Gaitlin ended up 2nd, Kyle Brown 3rd and Carter VanDenBerg 4th.  Gaitlin Leytham, Cayden Carter, Jenae Gustin and Zack Rawlins each won heat races.


The Stock Cars once again put on a fantastic show as there were 4 different drivers to lead a lap.  Tommy Thompson led the first lap and then Jeff Wollam took the lead and led laps 2-10.  Point’s leader Dustin Smith led laps 10-16 and then got a flat tire and Trent Murphy led the last 2 laps to win his 3rd feature of the year at Marshalltown.  Heat race winners were Trent Murphy, Dustin Smith and Jeff Wollam.


The Meskwaki Casino and Hotel Modified feature had 3 different drivers lead a lap during the 20 lap main event.  Josh Gilman led the first 3 laps and then Scott Simatovich took the lead until lap 8.  Brett Ladehoff led lap 9 and then had problems and pulled in. Simatovich then took the lead back and led the rest of the way to pick up his 2nd win of the year at Marshalltown.  Josh Gilman was 2nd, Jon Snyder 3rd and Mike O’Lear 4th.  Josh Gilman, Brett Ladehoff and Adam Larson were heat race winners.


Gary Pfantz jumped out to the early lead and led the first 5 laps of the Junction Bar and Grill Hobby Stock feature event.  Tyler Pickett led lap 6 and then Devin Smith led laps 7 and 8 and then had a right rear tire go flat.  Todd Reitlzer took the lead and won his first feature of the year at Marshalltown. Tyler Pickett got 2nd, Eric Knutson 3rd and Gary Pfantz 4th.  Heat race winners were Vince Buchholz, Eric Knutson, Terry Shaffar and Todd Reitzler.


Make sure to join us Monday June 28th for the Great American Stock Car Shootout.  Hot laps start at 6:15pm and Racing at 7:00pm for this exciting event that you won’t want to miss!  For more information call 515-432-4703 or log onto www.marshalltownspeedway.com.