Roberts gets First Career Marshalltown Win

Jul 17, 2010

Roberts gets First Career Marshalltown Win

Fans filed into the Marshalltown Speedway for a beautiful Friday night of racing with 114 cars checked in through the pit gate.  The race track stayed alive all night and allowed to drivers to pick any line they wanted to race and be fast.  Once again promoter Toby Kruse was happy with the racetrack after a fantastic night of racing

Nick Roberts picked up his 1st career win at the Marshalltown Speedway in the Big 8 Tyre Center SportMods.  The 14 year old led 13 of the 15 laps in the feature event as Eric Elliott led laps 4 and 5.  Kyle Brown finished 2nd after challenging Roberts for the win the last 5 laps, Cayden Carter got 3rd and Scott Davis 4th.  Heat race winners were Cayden Carter, Scott Davis, Eric Elliott and Gaitlin Leytham.

Josh May stole the show once again in the O’Rielly Auto Parts Modlite feature event as he passed Charlie Brown with 5 laps remaining to win once again.  May has made the winning pass with 5 laps to go the last 2 weeks.  Mike Morrill came home in 2nd, Tim Hennigar came back from a 1st lap wreck and finished 3rd and Charlie Brown led the first 10 laps and ended up 4th.  Charlie Brown, Tim Hennigar and Joel Huggins won the heat races

In the Stock Cars, Trevor Titus led the first 4 laps, Jeff Wollam paced the field on laps 5 through 8 and then Dustin Smith took the lead at half way and never looked back to make it 2 wins in a row for the National Points leader.  Jeff Wollam finished 2nd, Steve Meyer 3rd and Trent Murphy 4th.  Heat race winners were Steve Meyer, Jeff Wollam and Brian Irvine.

Rod Clement jumped out to the early lead in the Meskwaki Bingo Casino feature event and set the pace for the first 4 laps and then Luke Wanninger made his move for the lead on the 5th lap and lead the rest of the 20 lap affair to pick up his 2nd win of the year at Marshalltown.  Jimmy Gustin took 2nd, Jay Schmidt 3rd and Rod Clement rounded out the top 4.  Mike O’Lear, David Brown and Tim Murty were the heat race winners

Devin Smith kept his winning ways alive in the Junction Bar and Grill Hobby Stocks as he made it 2 weeks in a row with a date in victory lane.  Smith took the lead from Clint Nelson on lap 5 and took it the distance.  Michael Murphy got 2nd, Eric Knutson 3rd and Calvin Dhondt 4th.   Heat race winners were Russell Damme Jr, Devin Smith and Mike Vibbard

Make sure to join us this Friday for Hy-Vee/Hogeland Auto Plaza Kids night at the Marshalltown Speedway.  After the races there will also be the 2nd annual Spectator Eliminator.  For more information log onto or call 515-432-4703.  Hot laps at 6:45pm and racing at 7:30pm on Friday.