Fabulous Racing on KMJ Performance Night at Marshalltown Speedway

May 11, 2011

101 racers signed in to do battle on KMJ Performance Night at the Marshalltown Speedway. On this night not only would we have great racing action, but we would also have to dodge the rain drops of Mother Nature. All the races were completed despite rain drops coming down and lightening to the north.


O'Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites Feature, Travis Stensland took the early lead but, would be short lived as Josh May would take over the lead.  Mike Morrill was on his back bumper the entire race, and would try many times to take the top spot.  May went on to take the win with Morrill, Andy Hennigar, Joel Huggins and Dusty Masolini in spots 2nd through 5th.


After 4 heats and a B-feature, the Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA Sport Mods were ready to take the track for their main event.  Mother Nature would make her presence known. . Jayme Duinink lead the first lap only to have Nick Roberts take the top spot. Roberts would lead the field and lead until lap 9 when Cayden Carter took the top spot.  On a late race restart Carter would have engine troubles and hand the lead over to Beau Kaplan. Kaplan's lead was short lived as Kyle Brown took the lead on the white flag lap and take the win. Kaplan was 2nd, Tyler Droste was 3rd, Racer Hulin was 4th and Scott Davis was 5th.


In the Mike's Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature it was Rob Schneider taking the early lead. Jay Schmidt would make the pass on lap 2 for the lead and then the first of 3 cautions would slow the field.  Schmidt began to pull away but the race would be halted after Trent Murphy rolled his car.  On the restart Irvine would pass Schmidt for the lead.  Schmidt finished 2nd followed by Donavon Smith, Michael Jaennette, and Kevin Rose.


Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds took the track for their feature. Todd Shute led early, but John Snyder would take the spot away.  Snyder had to worry about Adam Larson and Jimmy Gustin. Larson passed Snyer for the lead, an never looked back. Larson took the win and was followed by Gustin, Snyder, David Brown and Joel Bushore.


The final feature on the night was the IMCA Hobby Stocks.  The feature brought lots of excitement including at times 3 and 4 wide racing.  Scott Durlin lead early, but Eric Knutson would go on and win back-to-back weeks. Durlin, Michael Murphy, Donavon Nunnikhoven and Kevin Fee finished 2nd through 5th.


The final checkered flag flew at 10:15pm putting end to KMJ Performance Night at the Races.


Next Friday Night will be the Annual Cliff Chambers Memorial with Pits Opening at 5:15p, Grandstands at 5:30p, Hot Laps at 6:45p and Racing at 7:30p. That will only start the busy week as Tuesday May 17th the Deery Brothers Summer Series comes to town for their Miller Lite 50 also racing will be the Mod Lites, Sport Mods and the Karl Chevrolet – DTRA Dirt Trucks.