Temperatures in the 90's as Racing Heated Up for Minute Man Printing Night

Jun 4, 2011

Temperatures rose to the upper 90's and racing action heated up on the high-banks of the Marshalltown Speedway for Minute Man Printing Night.


The first feature of the night was the O'Reilly Auto Parts - Mod Lites.  Tim Hennigar took command early from his pole position starting spot.  Hennigar would go on and take the win with Mike Morril, Josh May, Randy Bryan and Joel Huggins right behind rounding out the top 5.


Next up was the Big 8 Tyre Center - IMCA Karl Chevrolet Sport Mods, 15 lap feature.  Jenae Gustin would take the early race lead from the pole position but that lead would be short lived as Dane Larson would take the top spot on lap 4. The only thing to slow Larson down was four caution flags.  Larson would take the win, Nick Roberts 2nd, Kyle Brown 3rd, Cayden Carter 4th and Tyler Droste was 5th.


In the Mike's Hard Lemonade - IMCA Stock Car 18 lap feature, it was Last Week's Winner Steve Meyer taking the lead early after starting 4th row inside. Meyer and that field would see the first caution come out on lap 2 for debris.  On the restart Meyer would be passed by Trent Murphy.  Murphy would continue to lead, but Donavon Smith took the top spot on lap 6 and did not look back. Finishing behind Smith was Meyer, Murphy, Curt Hook and Kevin Rose.


The Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel - IMCA Modifieds 20 lap feature was up next and it was Todd "Toddzilla" Shute taking full advantage of the pole position and lead the feature from start-to-finish in the green-to-checkered feature. Adam Larson was 2nd, Scott Simatovich was 3rd, Jimmy Gustin was 4th and Jon Snyder was 5th.


The final feature of the night was the Toby K's Hideaway - IMCA Hobby Stocks 12 lap feature. Before the field could complete 1 lap the caution came out.  On the restart, Gary Pfantz took the lead. Pfantz's lead would be short lived though as Donavon Nunnikhoven would make the pass for the lead and go on and take the win. Pfantz, Eric Knutson, Gene Nicklas and Brandon Pruitt were 2nd through 5th.


Next Friday Night will be JR Motorsports Night at the Races, also the annual Marshalltown Speedway Faster Pastor Races.