May, VanDenberg, Fee, Wollam and Snyder all take checkers at Marshalltown Speedway

Aug 6, 2011

Looked as if Mother nature was trying to ruin the fun with some scattered showers but eventually it clear up and allowed us to race and finish despite a late light sprinkle.


The first feature of the night was the O'Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites. James May would take the early race lead but then the only race caution came out on lap 6. On the restart, Andy Hennigar would take the lead from May but Hennigar's lead would be short lived as Hennigar would bobble in turn 4 and allow Josh May to get by Hennigar and James May for the lead. Josh May would go on to take his 7th feature win at Marshalltown during weekly point nights. Randy Bryan, James May, Mike Morrill and Andy Hennigar would round out the top 5.


Toby K's Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks 12 lap feature was up next. After the Initial start was called back it was the Rookie Brice Udelhoven taking the lead. Kevin Fee would chase down Udelhoven and make the pass coming to the flying green. Fee would take the win with Udelhoven in 2nd, Jennifer Hulin in 3rd, Eric Larson in 4th and Eric Knutson in 5th.


In the Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feature it was Todd Conrad taking the early lead. Todd Shute made the pass on Conrad for the lead on lap 6. Then the first race caution waved on lap 9 but still Shute would lead until Jon Snyder would make the move and get by on lap 14. The final 2 race cautions came out on lap 17 but it didn't slow Snyder down as he would go on and take his 6th feature win at Marshalltown. Ronn Lauritzen, Richie Gustin, Todd Shute and Jimmy Gustin rounded out the top 5.


Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA Sport Mods feature would be next for 15 laps. Zack Rawlins would take the early race lead but Carter VanDenberg in a borrowed race car would get by and take the lead on lap 3. The only race caution came out on lap 6 for a 3 car tangle up in turn 2. VanDenberg would be able to hold on and go on and take the win his first at Marshalltown this year. Jared Van Deest took 2nd, Doug Smith was 3rd, Jenae Gustin would end up 4th and Dylan Book was 5th.


The Mike's Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars was the final feature of the night and it was Todd Reitzler taking the early lead but Jeff Wollam would make the pass on lap 3. 2 Laps later the only race caution came out but it wouldn't let it bother Wollam.  Wollam would have to hold off charges by Trent Murphy and Tracy Gienger and deal with lap traffic but go on and take his first feature at Marshalltown since August 15th, 2008. Gienger would take 2nd, Murphy was 3rd, Jay Schmidt took 4th and Damon Murty was 5th.


The final race of the night was the Modified Gambler race. Luke Wanninger would lead the first 8 laps before Jon Snyder would finally be able to get by and take the lead on lap 9. Snyder would go on and take the $300 in the gambler race meanwhile Todd Shute would slide off the top of turn 3 and roll his car, Shute would climb from the car okay. Snyder would be followed by Wanninger, Richie Gustin, Ronn Lauritzen and Mike Jergens.


Racing came to an end just before 10pm. Next Friday night we are back at it with New Hope Christian Church Cardboard Classic and J&V Napa Auto Parts Night where Hot Laps at 7p and Racing to Follow.