Duffy takes Checkers, Elliott wins HDT Tour Title on Night #2 of the Havoc on the High Banks

Sep 28, 2011

Night number two would bring us a lot of great racing action as we would have 7 classes in competition. This night would not disappoint the fans that were in attendance at all. Fans also learned the Sport Compacts will be added to the speedway weekly in 2012.

The first feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts and it was the Racing Veteran Merv Chandler leading the race from start to finish in the green-to-checkered event. Brad Chandler took 2nd with Tyler Whalen in 3rd, Bill Whalen in 4th and Dave Moorman in 5th.

O'Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites feature would see Colby Oberembt take the early lead and nothing seem to be able to stop including 2 race cautions on lap 8 and 10. Oberembt would take the win with Josh May, James May, Joel Huggins and Dustin Forsberg rounding out the top 5.

Karl Chevrolet Dirt Trucks would go green-to-checkered and it was Bret Moyer leading all 12 laps and taking the win and claiming the Dirt Truck Championship. Carl Moyer took 2nd, Brad Moyer in 3rd, Tony Moro in 4th and Rick Clark in 5th.

Toby K's Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks would see a caution before a lap would be completed. When the race did get going it would go 15 laps caution free with Scott Pippert leading all the laps. Eric Knutson was 2nd, Tyler Pickett was 3rd, Kenny Loftus was 4th and Eugene Nicklas was 5th.

Next up would be the Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA Sport Mods feature and it was Jake Strayer leading the first lap. Clint Luellen would get by Strayer and take the lead on lap 2, a lead in which Luellen  would hold until lap 10. Cayden Carter would use a lap car as a pick and get by Luellen for the lead, a lap later the caution would fly twice. Carter would hold off all challenges and take the win with Tyler Droste, Clint Luellen, Jenae Gustin and Carter Van Den Berg rounding out the top 5.

In the Mike's Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars feature it was Dave Atcher taking the lead early but then the caution would fly on lap 2 and 3. Atcher would still remain out front but Jay Schmidt would make the bottom side work and make the pass for the lead on lap 6. Schmidt would hold the lead until the caution waved again on lap 13. On the restart, Jay Schmidt would have to deal with 19th place starter Brian Irvine, Irvine would make the pass and take the top spot. Irvine and the field would see the caution flag  fly again on lap 14, 15 and 17 but would manage to cruise on to the win. Schmidt would finish 2nd with 24th place starter Damon Murty in 3rd, Atcher in 4th and Andy Bryant in 5th.

The final feature of the night was the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour IMCA Modifieds, a feature that would bring us 3 and 4 wide racing through the 30 laps. Mark Elliott would take the early lead only to see the caution come out after completion of lap 1 and 2. Elliott would have himself in a 5 car battle for the top spot on lap 6 but continue to lead it. Elliott would lead it depsite a caution on lap 13 but the caution on la 16 would change things. Elliott would be passed by Adam Larson on the restart, Larson's lead was short lived as Darin Duffy would get by on lap 21. Duffy would manage to take the win despite cautions on lap 23 and 24. Finishing behind Duffy was Jon Snyder, Todd Shute, Adam Larson and Richie Gustin. Mark Elliott would finish 6th but end up with the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour Championship.

Next up for the Marshalltown Speedway will be the Annual Awards Banquet on November 4th and will take place at the Activities Building on the Central Iowa Fairgrounds in Marshalltown. The next racing event at the speedway will be in April 2012.