Nunnikhoven, Hulin, Murty and Gustin win Frostbuster Features

Apr 8, 2012

Marshalltown, Iowa (April 5, 2012) -- Marshalltown Speedway got the 2012 racing season underway with over 200 cars in the pit area from several states and Canada for the Tri-County Heating Frostbuster. The night would see great side-by-side racing action all night long on the high banked 1/4 mile.


The first feature of the night was the IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature and before one lap could be completed the caution would come. When the race going it was Donavon Nunnikhoven taking the lead and not looking back. Scott Pippert came out of a B-feature and started thirteen to finish 2nd. Vince Buchholz was 3rd, Devin Smith was 4th and Adam Armstrong from Nebraska was 5th.


IMCA Sport Mods 18 lap feature was next and it was Racer Hulin taking the early lead. The caution would fly 3 times in the race but Hulin was in a different time zone as he would go on and get his first win at Marshalltown. Nick Roberts, Tracy Wassenberg from Wisconsin, Andy Tiernan and Bryan Lariviere rounded out the top 5.


In the IMCA Stock Cars 20 lap feature it was Brandon Charapata from Wisconsin taking the early lead. Charapata would hold on to the top spot until lap 5 when Damon Murty made the top side work. Murty would go on to the win in the green-to-checkered feature. Sean Johnson was 2nd, Charapata would finish 3rd, Brian Irvine was 4th and Jay Schmidt was 5th.


The final feature of the night was the IMCA Modified feature. Ricky Stephan from Nebraska took the lead early from his pole position. The first caution came out on lap 4 for debris on the race track and before another lap the caution would come out again for a couple of cars getting together in turn 2. Midway through the race, Stephan was getting several challenges from Richie Gustin and Darin Duffy specially after 2 cautions midway through the race.


With 1 lap to go, Stephan and Duffy racing hard for position get together in turn 2 and the yellow comes out setting up a green-white-checkered with both of them going to the tail and giving the lead to Gustin. Gustin would lead the final 2 laps to take the win, his 2nd of the Frostbuster Week. NASCAR Racing Veteran, Kenny Schrader, Kyle Strickler, Jay Noteboom and Mark Elliott rounded out the top 5.


Next Friday Night the Marshalltown Speedway's Wolf Seeds Chase for the Championship gets underway with Ryan Ashton Racing Night. IMCA Sanctioned Modifieds, Stock Cars, Sport Mods, Hobby Stocks, Sport Compacts and Mod Lites racing every Friday Night. Hot Laps at 6:45 pm and racing at 7pm.


For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at: , follow Marshalltown Speedway on faceBook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.  You may also e-mail the speedway at: