Herb, Morrill, Gustin, Pippert, Murphy and Snyder Were Victorious on J&V Napa Auto Parts Night

Aug 12, 2012

Marshalltown, Iowa (August 10, 2012) – The Race Track again would bring some great 3, 4 and 5 wide racing coming off the corners all night on J&V Napa Auto Parts Night at the Races. Also we would see people of all ages take part in our annual New Hope Christian Church Cardboard Classic during intermission


Duayne Herb would lead all 6 laps and hold off Merv Chandler to take the win and end Chandler’s streak on Friday Nights. Herb would become the first winner other than a special event besides Chandler. Chandler would end up 2nd, John Gill was 3rd and Neil Nabholz would experience some trouble in the heat and not make the call for the feature.


In the O’Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites feature, Joel Huggins would take the lead but Points Leader Mike Morrill would work his way up from 4th row outside starting spot up to challenge and take the lead on lap 3. Morrill would start to pull away until he would start encountering lap traffic and that would allow Josh May to catch up and then the race’s only caution came out on lap 9 forcing the field to bunch. Morrill would hold off May to take his 7th win on Friday Nights. May would finish 2nd with Randy Bryan, Huggins and Mike Kennedy rounding out the top 5.


Travis Peterson would take the early lead in the Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature but it was 4th row outside starter Jenae Gustin working her way up to take the lead on lap 3. Gustin would see the yellow come out a lap later but that wouldn’t bother her. Gustin and the field would see the caution fly twice on lap 12, first for Shawn Albers coming to a stop in turn 2 and then when Ryan Ashton would spin in turn 2. Gustin would have to deal with last week’s winner Sam Wieben and Racer Hulin but she would hold off any challenges from them to take her 3rd win at Marshalltown this year on Fridays. Wieben, Hulin, Jared Van Deest and Tyler Droste would round out the top 5.


Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks feature would see Jennifer Hulin take the early lead but then a caution would come out on lap 3 when Nic Shearer would spin coming off of turn 4. On the restart, Hulin would have to deal with Gary Pfantz and Scott Durlin. Pfantz would make the move and take the lead but his lead would be short lived as Scott Pippert would take the top spot away on lap 7. Pippert would go on take win number 5 on Fridays at Marshalltown. Pfantz was 2nd, Hulin was 3rd, Matt Hudspeth was 4th and Randy Embrey was 5th.


Trevor Titus would lead the first 8 laps in the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars feature before Jay Schmidt would take the top spot on lap 9. Schmidt appeared to be going on to the win until Trent Murphy would chase him down and start working him hard late in the race. On the last lap, Schmidt would have some rear end mechanical issues and that would give the win over Trent Murphy. For Murphy it was win number 4 in the last 5 Friday Nights. Derek Reimer would end up 2nd, Steve Meyer was 3rd, Michael Murphy was 4th and Jay Schmidt would end up coming across the line in 5th.


The final feature of the night was Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feature would go green to checker. Zack Rawlins leading the first 2 laps before Night of 1000 Stars Winner Jon Snyder would take the lead away on lap 3. Snyder would pull away and cruise on to the 2nd win of the weekend, 2nd win of the season at Marshalltown. Luke Wanninger and Adam Larson both are running crates coming across the line in 2nd and 3rd. Ronn Lauritzen would finish 4th and Mark Elliott would finish 5th.


Next Friday Night will be State Center Resident Night meaning any resident of the town of State Center can get in to the grandstands free of charge with the proof of ID. Speedway features IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Mod Lites and IMCA Sport Compacts. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing to Follow at 7:30 pm.


For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at: http://www.marshalltownspeedway.com/, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703