Gustin Victorious on Friday Night in MoTown

Aug 19, 2012

Marshalltown, Iowa (August 17, 2012) – Friday Night would be State Center Night meaning any resident of State Center would get in free with the proof of ID. The fans that came out on Friday Night would not be disappointed as there were some great 3, 4 and 5 wide racing in all of the weekly classes and we would get an extra bonus with the vintage and nostalgia cars on hand.

The first features of the night were the Vintage Cars and Nostalgia Car Features. In the Sprint Car Vintage Car Feature it was Ted Rozinski taking the win. Austin Russell took the win in the Modified Vintage Car feature and it was Ben Holt taking top honors in the Nostalgia Feature.

Just like last week just reversed, this week it was Merv Chandler leading all 6 laps in the IMCA Sport Compact feature event and hold off challenges from Duayne Herb. Chandler would take win number 13 on Friday Nights, Herb would end up 2nd and Josh Keller would finish 3rd.

Tim Hennigar would lead the first 4 laps before Josh May would work his way up to take the lead on lap 5 in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites feature. May would see the only thing slowing him down was the lap traffic which allowed Tim Hennigar to stay there and make an attempt to battle for the lead but it was May taking his 7th win on Friday Nights at Marshalltown. Hennigar, Mike Morrill, Randy Bryan and Joel Huggins would round out the top 5.

Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature would see the caution fly before the completion of a lap when Sam Wieben would get tangled together with a couple cars and cutting his tire down. When the racing got going it was Travis Peterson taking the early lead but he would have to deal with Gatlin Leytham and Jenae Gustin. The next 2 cautions would come out on lap 6 and lap 8 both for debris forcing another restart. This time on the restart of the lap 8 caution it was Gustin jumping to the lead. Gustin would go on and take win number 4 of the year at Marshalltown and 2nd win in as many weeks. Racer Hulin would get by Peterson for 2nd meaning Peterson would end up 3rd. Curtis VanDerWal and Joel Rust would complete out the top 5.

Brice Udelhoven would take the early lead in the Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks feature but just after the completion of lap 1 the caution would come when Jennifer Hulin would come to a stop in turn 2. Udelhoven would continue to lead but Point Leader Scott Pippert, who started 12th worked his way up through the field and started battling for the lead just after halfway. Udelhoven would hold him off until the last lap when Pippert would get by and take his 6th win of the season and 2nd straight win. Udelhoven settled for 2nd, Eric Knutson was 3rd, Eric Larson was 4th and Randy Embrey was 5th.

In the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars feature it was Trevor Titus leading the first 8 laps before the only race caution would come out forcing a restart. Titus would have Tracy Gienger and Jeff Wollam, Gienger would go on make the pass and go on to take the win. Damon Murty, Steve Meyer, Trent Murphy and Titus would round out the top 5.

The final feature of the night was Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feature and for the 2nd week in a row the feature would go green to checker. Scott Simatovich would lead the first 2 laps before Josh Truman would get by and take the lead. Truman would be passed by Jimmy Gustin, debuting his new 2013 Harris, on lap 8. Gustin would go on to take his 7th win of the season at Marshalltown.

Next Friday Night will be Custom Concrete Night featuring $100 win Tough Truck Tug of War. Speedway features IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Mod Lites and IMCA Sport Compacts. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing to Follow at 7:30 pm.

For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.