Reimer Gets First Career Win on Custom Concrete Night

Aug 25, 2012

Marshalltown, Iowa (August 24, 2012) – The night was action packed and exciting night of racing on Custom Concrete Night at the Marshalltown Speedway. The fans would not only get to see the weekly classes races but when the features were all finish there would be a Tough Truck Tug of War that every fan in attendance enjoyed.


David Moorman would jump to the lead right away in the IMCA Sport Compacts 8 lap feature from his 2nd row outside starting spot and appeared he was going to cruise to the easy win until the caution came out on lap 3 for debris and then again on lap 5 when Neil Nabholz would experience some troubles. Moorman wouldn’t let that bother him as he would hold off challenges from Merv Chandler to take the win, which was Moorman’s 1st since he last won a non-sanctioned FWD feature back on September 3rd, 2004. Chandler, John Gill, Duayne Herb and Jer Pedersen would round out the top 5.


Travis Stensland would lead the first lap in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites feature before Joel Huggins would sneak by for the lead. Huggins would have to deal with Mike Morrill and it was Morrill grabbing the lead on lap 4 and begin pulling away. Morrill would go on take his 8th win of the season at Marshalltown. Josh May would finish 2nd, Tim Hennigar was 3rd, Andy Hennigar was 4th and Joel Huggins was 5th.


Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature would see Gatlin Leytham take the early lead but just after 2 laps was complete the caution would fly 3 times in the next 2 laps. The first 2 cautions were for sole spins and the final caution was for 6 cars getting together in the bottom side of turn 2. Once it was cleaned up, Leytham would continue to lead it until Jenae Gustin would make her way up to battle for the lead. Gustin would make the right move on the last lap and take the win over Leytham. Ty Luellen was 3rd, Racer Hulin started 22nd and finished 4th. Jake Strayer would come home in the 5th spot to round out the top 5.


In the Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks 12 lap feature it was Tyler Pickett taking the early lead but Brice Udelhoven would take over the lead on lap 4. Shortly after the yellow came out for the first time but Udelhoven wouldn’t let that bother him. However the caution would fly again on lap 9 when Nic Shearer would have something break and going into the wall. This would put Scott Pippert on Udelhoven’s back bumper and it would be Udelhoven holding him off on lap 10 but Pippert would make the move and take the win away. Udelhoven settled for 2nd with Eric Knutson, Kevin Fee and Randy Embrey rounding out the top 5.


The Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars feature saw Kevin Rose lead the first 8 lap before Derek Reimer would make the move on the outside and grab the lead away. The only caution would come out on lap 12 but that didn’t seem to slow Reimer down as he would hold off late race challenges from Rose, Donavon Smith and Tracy Gienger to take his first career win.  Rose, Smith, Gienger and John Emerson finished 2nd through 5th.


The final feature of the night was Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feature and it was Randy Havlik leading the first 4 laps before Jon Snyder would grab the lead on lap 5. Snyder would only be slowed down by the cautions that came out on lap 7 and 10. Snyder would take the win over Ronn Lauritzen, Luke Wanninger, Jimmy Gustin and Scott Simatovich


Next Friday Night will be Dairy Queen Larry Wollam Season Championship, where the top 12 in points will be locked in, heats be run for any over that to set the feature field. Speedway features IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Mod Lites and IMCA Sport Compacts. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing to Follow at 7:30 pm.


For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.