Chandler, Hennigar, Strayer, Pippert, Gienger and Gustin Winners on Larry Wollam Memorial Season Championships

Sep 1, 2012

Marshalltown, Iowa (August 31, 2012) – The final night of the Wolf Seeds Chase for the Championship would come to rest with the Larry Wollam Memorial Season Championships. On the night we honor a former racer, car owner and promoter in Larry Wollam which lost his battle to leukemia 13 years ago. The fans came out and enjoy a great night of racing.


Merv Chandler would get to start on the pole because of being the IMCA Sport Compacts Track Champion and he would take full advantage and lead all 8 laps from start to finish taking the win. Duayne Herb would try to make several attempts to get by Chandler but settled for runner up honors and John Gill would come home in 3rd. For Chandler it was win number 14 of the year at Marshalltown.


In the O’Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites feature it was Mike Morrill taking advantage of his pole position and would lead the first 8 laps before Andy Hennigar would make the move and take the lead away from Morrill. Hennigar would go on and become the first driver besides Morrill and Josh May to take the win. May would get by Morrill for 2nd forcing Morrill back to 3rd but Morrill would be the 2012 track champion. Dusty Masolini was 4th and Tim Hennigar was 5th.


Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature would see Racer Hulin take the lead and start to pull away until he encounter lap traffic which would allow Jake Strayer to chase him down and set up an exciting finish. On the last lap, Strayer would sneak to the inside of Hulin and use a lap car as a pick to take the win away from Hulin. Hulin would finish 2nd and take the track championship. Scott Davis, Nick Roberts and Joel Rust rounded out the top 5.


Scott Pippert clinched the track championship in the Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature and would start on the front row. Pippert would jump to the lead and the only thing that would slow him would be a lap 8 caution. Pippert wouldn’t let it slow him down as he would go on to take his 8th win in the last 9 weeks at Marshalltown. Eric Larson would finish 2nd, Kevin Fee was 3rd, Eric Knutson was 4th and Robert Engelkes was 5th.


The Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars feature saw the yellow fly for debris before a single lap was completed forcing a straight up restart. When the race got going it was Tracy Gienger taking the lead meanwhile Steve Meyer would stay close to Gienger. Then the caution would fly again on lap 9, first for Doug Russell having issues and coming to a rest in turn 4 and then on the restart when the red flag would come when Justin Jacobson would flip in turn 2. That wouldn’t bother Gienger however if that wasn’t enough the caution would fly on lap 18 forcing a green-white-checkered restart. Gienger would hold off any challenges from Steve Meyer or Damon Murty to take his 2nd win in 3 weeks. Murty would take 2nd, Steve Meyer would finish 3rd but be the 2012 track champion. Jeff Wollam would finish 4th and Trent Murphy was 5th.


The final feature of the night was Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feature and it was Jimmy Gustin leading all 25 laps in the feature that went green-to-checkered to take the 2012 track championship which is his 5th track championship in 6 years. Ronn Lauritzen would finish 2nd, Zack Rawlins was 3rd, Kyle Brown was 4th and Scott Simatovich was 5th.


The Speedway will now be idle until Friday and Saturday September 21st and 22nd when the 6th Annual Toby K’s Hideaway Havoc on the High Banks takes place featuring the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour IMCA Modifieds. Also Racing will be IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Mod Lites, IMCA Sport Compacts and Karl Chevrolet Dirt Trucks. Hot Laps at 6:30 pm and Racing to Follow at 7 pm both nights.

Sunday Funday will take place on Sunday September 30th featuring Go-Karts, Motorcycles and Quads going around the quarter mile, Hot Laps at 4 pm and Racing to Follow. The Annual Night of Champions Banquet is on November 2nd so RSVP.


For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.