Noteboom, Johnson, Hulin, Watson and Morrill Winners on Night 1 of Havoc on the High Banks

Sep 22, 2012

Marshalltown, Iowa (September 21, 2012) – After being idle for a few weeks that Marshalltown Speedway roar back to life with Night 1 of the 6th Annual Toby K’s Hideaway Havoc on the High Banks. There would be some fantastic 3, 4 and 5 wide through out the night and some exciting finishes.


Andy Hennigar would take the lead on lap 1 but it was Mike Morrill getting by on the topside on lap 2 in the O’Reilly Auto Part Mod Lites Feature. Morrill would continue to work the topside while Hennigar was on the bottom by the tires. The only thing that would slow Morrill and Hennigar would be the two race cautions in the early going but it was Morrill holding off any challenges from Hennigar to take the win. Hennigar would settle for 2nd, Troy Hudson was 3rd, Mike Kennedy was 4th and Paul Nagle was 5th


Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature would see Curtis Vanderwal taking the early lead and appear to be pulling away with it until he started encountering lap traffic and that would allow Track Champion Racer Hulin chase him down and grab the lead on lap 8. A Lap later the only caution would come when a car would come to a stop on the run off road but Hulin wouldn’t let that bother him as he would go on to take the victory. Ty Luellen would get by Vanderwal in the later stages to take 2nd with Vanderwal in 3rd. Randy Roberts, who started 12th and Carter Vandenberg would round out the top 5.


In the Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature it was John Watson taking full advantage of his pole position as he would jump to the lead. Watson would see the yellow fly four times through out the feature including one that set up the green-white-checkered finish.  Watson would have to deal with several different drivers Devin Smith, Scott Pippert and Garrett Eilander through out but hold them off to take the win. Pippert, who started 12th would get by Smith to grab 2nd. Smith, Lichty and Chris Luloff would finish third through fifth.


The Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars feature would go green-to-checkered and it was Sean Johnson from Independence leading all 20 laps and the only thing that slowed him down was the lap traffic in the 2nd half of the race. Donavon Smith would finish 2nd, Christopher Wiltse was 3rd, Jeff Wollam was 4th and Jay Schmidt was 5th.


The final feature of the night was JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour for IMCA Modifieds 30 lap feature and this feature would not despite as it was Darin Duffy taking the early lead from his outside front row starting spot and he would lead it pretty easily until the caution came out on lap 10 when Patrick Flannagan in Dennis Betzer’s car would go around in turn 3. Duffy would now know that Jay Noteboom who started 7th had worked his way up through the field. Duffy and Noteboom would start getting in to a battle for the lead with Duffy holding off Noteboom until lap 17. Noteboom would slip up just a bit on lap 20 allowing Duffy back by on the topside. Duffy and Noteboom would continue to swap the lead until Noteboom would finally grab it away on lap 23. Noteboom would take the win and Duffy would settle for 2nd. Jon Snyder, Mark Elliott and Randy Havlik would round out the top 5. Jeremy Mills came in as the point leader for the Hawkeye Dirt Tour by 6 pts and will now head into tomorrow night in a tie with Jay Noteboom because Mills finish 7th.


The Speedway will be back in action again tomorrow night with night #2 of the 6th Annual Havoc on the High Banks featuring the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour IMCA Modifieds. Also Racing will be IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Mod Lites, IMCA Sport Compacts and Karl Chevrolet Dirt Trucks. Hot Laps at 6:30 pm and Racing to Follow at 7 pm.


For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.