Duffy wins Night 2 of the Havoc on the High Banks

Sep 23, 2012

Marshalltown, Iowa (September 22, 2012) – For the 2nd straight the Marshalltown Speedway saw some fantastic 3, 4 and 5 wide racing despite the temperatures being a little cooler than last night. The fans that braved the cold definitely didn’t go home disappointed either night. The night also brought people from Australia and even a NASCAR racing legend David Pearson to the race track.


In the O’Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites, it was Jeff Stensland taking the early lead and when the first race caution came out on lap 3, Stensland didn’t let that bother him as he continued to lead until the caution came out on lap 9 for debris. On the restart, it was Tim Hennigar sneaking by to take the lead and then the final race caution came out when Troy Hudson would roll in turn 4, Hudson would be okay. Tim Hennigar would hold off the late race challenges to take the win. Mike Kennedy finished 2nd with Bryan Zehm in 3rd, Jason Whitehead in 4th and Randy Bryan in 5th.


Merv Chandler would lead the entire 10 lap IMCA Sport Compact feature to take the win. David Moorman would grab 2nd from Duayne Herb on the last lap. Herb took 3rd with John Gill and Neil Nabholz rounding out the top 5.


After having the first two attempts to start the 12 lap Karl Chevrolet Dirt Truck feature, the first row would be sent back to the 2nd row with the 2nd row moving up to start on the front row and when the race got going it was Brad Moyer jumping out to the early lead. Brad Moyer would lead the first half of the race before his brother Bret Moyer would finally be able to grab the lead away. Bret Moyer would go on to take the win and grab the Karl Chevrolet Dirt Truck Championship. Brad Moyer, Tony Moro, Carl Moyer and Rick Clark would finish second through fifth.


Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature would see Curtis Vanderwal take the lead from the pole position but just shortly after the completion of lap 1 the caution would fly. Vanderwal wouldn’t let this caution bother him but then the  caution flag would wave again on lap 3. On the restart, Vanderwal would hold off Nick Roberts but Roberts wouldn’t give up as Roberts would grab the lead away on lap 5. Roberts and Vanderwal would do battle for the top spot with Roberts holding on and then Racer Hulin would make a 3 car battle and then the caution came out on lap 7. Roberts would get a great restart but Hulin and Vanderwal would not go away as they would stay there and set up for a fantastic finish after the caution 11. Roberts would go on take the win with Racer Hulin finishing 2nd. Vanderwal was 3rd, Joel Rust was 4th and Sam Wieben was 5th.


Scott Durlin would jump to the early race lead in the Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature but just after 1 lap was complete the caution would wave. Durlin would get a great restart and would be running pretty good until the caution came out on lap 3 for a car stopped in turn 2, Durlin would pull in shortly after because the car blew up this would hand the lead over to Watson. Watson would take full advantage and just after halfway, Scott Pippert had worked his way up to Watson and start to battle for the lead. Watson and Pippert would have a 5 lap dash to the finish because the caution came on lap 10 and it was Watson holding on to take the win for the 2nd night in a row. Pippert, Brandon Brinton, Aaron Rudolph and Gary Pfantz would round out the top 5.


Donavon Smith would start on the pole in the IMCA Stock Car feature and he would take full advantage of it until the caution came out on lap 5. On the restart, Smith would have Sean Johnson and Jay Schmidt behind him and it was Johnson grabbing the lead away from Smith on lap 7. Johnson would see the yellow come out twice on lap 8 for a car in turn 2 and then on the restart when something sent Jeff Wollam in the wall on the front stretch. On the restart, Johnson and Smith would resume their battle for the lead and Smith would keep sneaking his nose in the inside and he would eventually grab the lead back from Johnson on lap 10. Smith would lead the remaining laps to take the win with Johnson in a very close 2nd. Finishing behind Smith and Johnson was Jarod Weepie, Steve Meyer and Jay Schmidt.


The final feature of the night was JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour for IMCA Modifieds 30 lap feature and this feature would go green-to-checkered and not disappoint the fans in the stands. Milo Veloz Jr. would lead lap 1 but it was Dustin Smith grabbing the lead on lap 2. Smith would hold on to that lead until Darin Duffy grabs the lead on lap 6. Duffy began pulling away but as soon as he hit the lap traffic that would allow Jay Noteboom, who worked his way from his 4th row outside starting spot up to 2nd. Duffy would hold off any attempts from Noteboom as they were going through the lap traffic to take the win. Noteboom would finish 2nd and claim the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour Championship. Ronn Lauritzen came home in 3rd, Randy Havlik was 4th and Jon Snyder was 5th.


The racing season has come to an end for the Weekly Racing but the speedway will host Sunday Funday on September 30th, A Night of Champions Banquet in the Activity Building on Friday Night November 2nd and Battle at the Barn V on January 25th and 26th, 2013 in Des Moines. Check out the website for all the information about these events or about the 2013 racing season at the Marshalltown Speedway.


For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at: http://www.marshalltownspeedway.com/, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.