Gustin Family Affair in Victory Lane at Marshalltown

Apr 27, 2013

Marshalltown, Iowa (April 26th, 2013) – Finally racing action return to the Marshalltown Speedway after being rained out two straight weeks. The night would see some great two, three and even four wide racing all night which lead to several exciting finishes in the features on Kruse Family Night.  Dick Berggren’s Speedway Illustrated Editor Karl Fredrickson was on hand to enjoy the night of racing.


Jon Snyder jumped into the early lead in the Amsoil IMCA Modified feature but it would be Richie Gustin getting by on lap four. Snyder stayed close before falling back meanwhile Jimmy Gustin and Luke Wanninger was working there way up to second and third. Richie Gustin, Jimmy Gustin and Luke Wanninger got into a three car battle for the top spot.  Richie Gustin held on to the lead until Jimmy Gustin would make the clean pass off turn 4 coming to the checkers. Jimmy Gustin would get the win with his brother Richie Gustin holding off Luke Wanninger for second. Ronn Lauritzen and Adam Larson rounded out the top 5.


After having the initial start called back it was Damon Murty jumping to the lead in the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Stock Cars Feature. Murty began to pull away a little bit but right behind him was some great battle for positions. When the caution waved on lap 16 setting up a green-white-checkered finish, Murty would have Derek Reimer, Tracy Gienger, Michael Murphy and Steve Meyer right behind him on the restart. Murty managed to hold off everybody to take the win over Tracy Gienger, Michael Murphy, Steve Meyer and Derek Reimer.


The Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature saw Jenae Gustin grabbing the lead and in early the going the only thing that slowed her was the cautions. After the final caution on lap seven, Gustin had only lap traffic getting her way. Gustin took the win over Joel Rust, Geoff Olson, Eric Elliott and Travis Peterson.


In the Toby K’s Hideway IMCA Hobby Stock feature it was Andy Coffman grabbing the early lead but then the only race caution came out on lap 5 when Nick Murty would go for a wild ride in turn 1, Murty would climb from the car but it ended his night. Coffman had to deal with Michael Pruitt on the restart and Pruitt made the pass on Coffman with two laps to go. Michael Pruitt went on to grab the win over Coffman, Eric Stanton, Garrett Eilander and Aaron Rudolph.


Joel Huggins lead the first 11 laps in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Mod Lites feature but it was Andy Hennigar grabbing the top spot away on lap 12. Hennigar grabbed the win with Huggins finishing second. Randy Bryan, Josh May and Tim Hennigar rounding out the top 5.


First time at the Marshalltown Speedway and it was victorious for Adam Gates as he lead the entire 8 lap feature for the IMCA Sport Compacts. Merv Chandler and Dave Moorman had a great battle for second, Chandler would grab second at the line. Moorman finished third with John Gill and Nick West in fourth and fifth.


The racing season will continue next Friday at the Marshalltown Speedway as it will be the Johnny Ray’s Sports Bar and Grille Night.Grandstands are $9 for Adults, Children 11 and under is $2. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing at 7:30 pm


For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.