Gates, Hennigar, Peterson, Luellen, Murty and Brown Win on Cliff Chamber Memorial Night

May 11, 2013

Marshalltown, Iowa (May 10th, 2013) – Mother Nature hasn’t cooperated lately but on Friday Night the Speedway was able to honor a former Marshalltown Speedway Pioneer in  Cliff Chambers. The night produced some great racing all night long.

Josh Zieman grabbed the lead and never let go as he took his 2nd straight Cliff Chambers Memorial in the Nostgalia Stock Car Club of Iowa 10 lap feature. Jamie Huff grabbed 2nd away from Jim Anderson. Pudge Grabill and Tyler Ahlman rounded out the top 5.

Adam Gates lead from start-to-finish in the 8 lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature. Merv Chandler grabbed the runner up spot, Shawn Cooney finished 3rd, Nick West was 4th and Matt Moore was 5th.

In the Toby K’s Hideaway Mod Lites 15 laps feature, the red flag waved before a lap was scored when Joel Huggins and Josh May found their world upside. Eric Hendrickson grabbed the early lead when the race finally got started but it was Andy Hennigar grabbing the lead away on lap 6. Hennigar took his 2nd win of the season at Marshalltown over Bryan Zehm, Mike Kennedy, Randy Bryan and Mike Morrill.

The Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature saw Ryan Ashton grabbing the lead and he appeared to be cruising on to the win until a late race caution on lap 13 came out. Ashton had Travis Peterson and Jenae Gustin right behind him on the restart, Peterson grabbed the lead away meanwhile Gustin spun out. Peterson took the win with Ashton in 2nd, Eric Elliott in 3rd, Sam Wieben was 4th and Joel Rust was 5th.

Nick Murty lead the first 7 laps in the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Hobby Stock feature but it was Austin Luellen inching his nose ahead on lap 8 just before the caution came out. Lullen held off the challenges from Murty and Eric Larson to take the win. Murty, Larson, Chris Luloff and Benji Irvine rounding out the top 5/

Eric Knutson grabbed the lead in the Amsoil IMCA Stock Cars feature but the caution waved on lap 2 when Tracy Gienger and Robbie Merkle got together. Knutson resumed command and pull away until lap traffic slowed him down this allowed 12th place starter Brian Irvine and Damon Murty to chase him down. Murty grabbed the lead from Knutson and Irvine grabbed 2nd on lap 14. Murty held off Irvine to take the win meanwhile Knutson experience troubles that allowed Jeff Wollam to claim third. Mike Goldsberry and 18th place starter Jay Schmidt rounded out the top 5.

Final feature of the night was the Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feature and it was Kyle Brown grabbing the lead and the only thing that appeared to stop him from taking the win was the caution on lap 14 for Josh Foster in turn 2. Brown held off late race challenges from Racer Hulin, Jon Snyder, Luke Wanninger and Adam Larson to grab the win.

The racing season will continue next Friday at the Marshalltown Speedway as it will be the Scout Night along with the evening sponsor being Old Timer’s Lounge. Grandstands are $9 for Adults, Children 11 and under is $2. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing at 7:30 pm

For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.