Action Pack Night of Racing on Minute Man Printing and Evening Optimist Club Night at the Races

Jun 1, 2013

Marshalltown, Iowa (May 31st, 2013) – Mother Nature defintely wasn’t too kind with us this week causing flooding in Marshalltown. The race track was in great shape all night long produced some great racing action on Minute Man Printing and Evening Optimist Club Night.

First feature on the track for the night was the Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA Sport Mods feature with five laps down and thirteen laps to go.  Brandon Brinton resumed the point and was pulling away until he bobbed a little bit that allowed Ben Kates and Andy Tiernan to make it a 3 car battle for the lead. Kates grabbed the lead on lap 15 before Brinton grabbed it back on lap 16. Brinton and Kates got together and opened the door for Andy Tiernan, Tiernan made the move and grab the win coming off turn 4 to the checkers. Brinton finish second and Kates was third.

In the make-up Amsoil IMCA Stock Car Feature it was Matt Deaton grabbing the early lead. Eric Knutson grabbed the lead away on lap four but finally Michael Murphy sneaked by on lap 8 to take the lead. Murphy went on to take the win over Knutson, Tracy Gienger, Steve Meyer and Jeff Wollam.

Brice Udelhoven lead the first four laps in the make-up Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Hobby Stocks feature before the Bandit Brandon Pruitt got by to take the lead and ultimately the win. Udelhoven finished second, Bill Bonnett was third, Eric Stanton and Austin Lullen rounded out the top 5.

David Brown grabbed the early lead in the make-up Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feature but Ronn Lauritzen drove it in and grabbed the lead from Brown on lap seven. Lauritzen pulled away to take the win with Jon Snyder finishing in the runner up spot. Brown, Zach Rawlins and Luke Wanninger finished third through fifth.

Just like John Gill did last week he lead the first three laps in the IMCA Sport Compacts feature before Merv Chandler finally got by to take the top spot. Chandler went on to take th win with John Gill in second, Chad Larson in third and Josh Keller in fourth.

In the Toby’s K’s Hidaway Mod Lite 15 lap feature, Terry Brown grabbed the race lead. Brown lost the lead to Eric Hendrickson on lap 4 before the yellow came out when Joel Huggins spun in turn 2. Hendrickson able to hold on to the lead until Josh May worked his way up through field and it was May taking the lead on lap 8. May took the win over Mike Morrill and Andy Hennigar.

Shawn Albers grabbed the early lead in the Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA Sport Mods but a caution on lap 3 stacked the field up. Albers held off the initial challenge because another caution waved after lap 4 was completed. Eric Elliott made the move on the restart on Albers to take the spot away before  three more cautions waved on laps six and seven. Elliott held everybody off before the caution waved again on lap 14. Elliott dodged all of the cautions to take the win over Clint Luellen, Ty Luellen, Jenae Gustin and Brett Lowry.

Dustin Lynch lead the first lap in the Mike’s Hard Lemonade IMCA Hobby Stock feature but the caution waved and Luynch experienced some troubles and handed the lead over to Gary Pfantz. Bill Bonnett passed Gary Pfantz on the restart and it appeared it was going to be Bonnett taking the win but Brandon Pruitt chased him down and made move to take the lead on lap 8. Pruitt and Bonnett battled but it was Pruitt taking the win and Bonnett was second. Donavon Nunnikhoven, Chris Lulof and Garrett Eilander round out top 5.

The Amsoil IMCA Stock Car Feature was a wild one from start to finish, Sean Johnson grabbed the early lead and dodged four early race cautions including one on lap four when Dusty Vis saw his rear end come a part, before Jay Schmidt was able to get by on lap eight. Schmidt and the field saw the caution wave just after the completion of lap 9, on the restart it was Michael Murphy seeing his rear end come forcing the red flag. When the race resumed it was Johnson taking the lead back but Schmidt stayed right there until they got together on lap 16 that allowed Chris Wiltse to take the lead. Wiltse lead was short lived as Damon Murty made his way from his eleventh place starting poistion to grab the lead. Murty took the win over Wiltse, Scott Pippert, Todd Reitzler and Johnson.

Final Feature of the night was the Meskwaki Bingo Casino Hotel IMCA Modifieds feautre and it was Zach Rawlins grabbing the early lead. Rawlins lead was short lived as Richie Gustin sneaked by on lap 3. A lap later on lap 4 the caution waved for Adam Larson. Gustin got a great restart but the caution waved again on lap 14 stacking the field up. Gustin didn’t let that caution both him as he pulled away to take the win. Jon Snyder worked his way from twelve th starting position to finish 2nd. Luke Wanninger, Jimmy Gustin and Larson rouned out top 5.

Next Friday Night back to normal night as it will be Karl Performance Night at the Marshalltown Speedway. Also racing will be the Karl Chevrolet Dirt Trucks. Grandstands are $9 for Adults, Children 11 and under is $2. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing at 7:30 pm

For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-432-4703.